GET TO KNOW RAISEL IGLESIAS

RHP Raisel Iglesias has been a breath of fresh air in an otherwise long season for the Reds in 2015.  The 25 year-old made his Major League debut this year, nearly 10 months after signing a 7-year contract through the 2020 season in June 2014.

Iglesias and his agent meet with the media after signing with the Reds in June 2014

Iglesias and his agent meet with the media in August 2014

From August 1 to September 2, Iglesias produced 7 consecutive quality starts (2-3, 2.31); the season’s longest streak of quality starts by a Major League rookie or Reds pitcher.  From August 23 to September 2, he recorded 13, 10 and 10 strikeouts to become the first pitcher in modern Reds history, rookie or non-rookie, to record at least 10 strikeouts in 3 consecutive appearances.

Iglesias was born in Cuba and left there in 2013.  He became eligible to sign a Major League contract after he established residency in Haiti.  Iglesias now resides in Miami, FL.

With the help of Reds assistant athletic trainer Tomas Vera, Iglesias recently provided Better Off Red a glimpse into his life and personality.  Here’s Raisel in his words…

First Car: My first car is the one I bought last year when I got to the USA.  It’s a Dodge Charger.

Sports Achievements:  I won a bronze medal in swimming during a high school competition for Isla Juventu.

Hobbies:  I go fishing almost every day during the offseason.

The Point He Knew He Was Really Good at Baseball:  After I traveled for the first time with the Cuban National team.  I was 12 years old (We went to Venezuela).

L-R: Aroldis Chapman, Reds primary care doctor Angel Velazquez and Raisel Iglesias

Memorable Birthday Parties:  My 25th birthday (last year).  I had my entire family with me.

Non-Baseball Destination He’d Like to Visit:  I would like to visit Brazil.

Favorite Music: Salsa, Reggaeton, and Pop Music.

Favorite Electronic Gadget:  My cell Phone

Pets:  I have two German Shepherds (Diablo, and Luna).  When I was in Cuba I had more than 50 pigeons.

Superstitions:  If I have a good game, I repeat everything I did the next time I pitch.

Favorite TV Shows:  I watch a lot of soap operas.

Raisel

Siblings:  I have 5 siblings; four sisters and one brother.  My brother is here with me in the USA.

Do your siblings watch your games: In Cuba you can’t watch an international TV station.  Also, they don’t show any games in which a Cuban player is playing.

Role Modes/People He Looks Up To:  My mom is my role model and I admire Mariano Rivera.

Favorite thing to do in Cincinnati:  I like to walk around downtown Cincinnati.

Greatest Gift Given:  I gave a glove with my name on it to a little kid in LA this year.

Favorite Meal:  Rice, beans and steak.

What He’d Do If He Didn’t Play Baseball:  I would be a little league coach.

What He Likes To Do With Free Time On The Road:  I stay in my room and play video games.

Raisel2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: