The official release from Rawlings….

2014 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® Finalists Announced
ESPN2 to broadcast exclusive show unveiling MLB recipients Tuesday, November 4th

ST. LOUIS, MO – October 23, 2014 – Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. a subsidiary of Jarden Corporation (NYSE: JAH), today announced the finalists for the 2014 Rawlings Gold Glove Award®, honoring the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League™ and National League™. Winners will be unveiled during a live, one-hour “Baseball Tonight – The 2014 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Announcement Show” on ESPN2 Tuesday, November 4, 2014, at 7pm ET/6pm CT.

Rawlings first began highlighting the top-three defenders at each position in 2011. Since then, only nine players have been named a Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalist each year: Texas third baseman Adrian Beltre, Toronto pitcher Mark Buehrle, Seattle second baseman Robinson Cano, Los Angeles first baseman Adrian Gonzalez, Kansas City left fielder Alex Gordon, Baltimore shortstop J.J. Hardy, St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina, Boston second baseman Dustin Pedroia and Cincinnati second baseman Brandon Phillips.

A number of players are vying for the designation as the best defender at their respective positions, including 21 former Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners. The Kansas City Royals™ and Los Angeles Dodgers™ lead all teams with four finalists each. With pitcher Dallas Keuchel’s top-three finish among American League pitchers, the Houston Astros™ became the final team to have at least one Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalist.

The longest, active consecutive streak of Rawlings Gold Glove Award wins belongs to St. Louis’ Molina with six, beginning in 2008. Kansas City’s Gordon is next with three consecutive wins.

Each manager and up to six (6) coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their League, and cannot vote for players on their own team. Last year, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process, as part of its collaboration with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR). The SABR Defensive Index comprised of approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, with the managers and coaches’ vote continuing to carry the majority.


Brandon Phillips (REDS)
Chase Utley (PHILLIES)

Zack Cozart (REDS)
Adeiny Hechavarria (MARLINS)
Andrelton Simmons (BRAVES)

Billy Hamilton (REDS)
Juan Lagares (METS)
Denard Span (NATIONALS)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: