Rawlings announced tonight that Reds 2B Brandon Phillips and 1B Joey Votto are 2011 Gold Glove Award winners.

For Phillips, it’s his third Rawlings Gold Glove Award and his second in consecutive years.  He also won it in 2008.  Phillips is the first Reds second baseman to win back-to-back Gold Gloves since Pokey Reese did it in 1999 and 2000 and the first Reds second sacker to win it 3 or more times since Joe Morgan won it 5 straight years from 1973-1977.  He joins Johnny Bench (10x), David Concepcion (5x), Joe Morgan (5x), Cesar Geronimo (4x), Eric Davis (3x), Barry Larkin (3x) and Roy McMillan (3x) as Reds players who’ve won 3 or more Gold Gloves.

Votto becomes the first Reds first baseman ever to win a Rawlings Gold Glove and the first player in 16 years, other than Albert Pujols, Adrian Gonzalez, Derrek Lee, Todd Helton, J.T. Snow or Mark Grace to win the award at first base.

Congratulations to Brandon Phillips and Joey Votto!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

YAY! they both earned it!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: