The Reds have exercised the 2012 option on the contract of 2B Brandon Phillips; declined the 2012 option on the contract of RHP Francisco Cordero; outrighted to Louisville RHP Jared Burton and RHP Daryl Thompson; selected the contract of OF Denis Phipps; LHP Matt Maloney was claimed off waivers by the Twins.


Baseball awards season begins tomorrow night with the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards announcement at 10:00 p.m. ET on ESPN2RF Jay Bruce, 2b Brandon Phillips and 1b Joey Votto are all award nominees at their respective positions.


The Reds Hot Stove League starts tomorrow night at 6 ET.  If you won’t be around a radio for the show, here’s the link for you to listen

All of the Reds Hot Stove League shows will be archived HERE.


On this date in 1938, Reds catcher Ernie Lombardi won the National League Most Valuable Player Award.  Lombardi would eventually become a Baseball Hall of Famer in Cooperstown.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: