75 Candidates Vie for Fan Selection
For 2012 Frick Award Ballot
 — Top Three Vote-Getters in September to be among 10 Finalists for Broadcast Honor —

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – For more than 90 years, the connection between baseball broadcasters and fans has strengthened the appreciation for the National Pastime.

Fans can celebrate that bond by making their voices heard in the annual online vote to determine three finalists for the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum’s 2012 Ford C. Frick Award for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

The process will allow fans to cast votes at the Hall of Fame’s Facebook page, — marking the ninth consecutive year that fans will select three of the 10 names on the ballot for the Frick Award. Voting runs from Sept. 1 through Sept. 30, and fans can cast votes once per day through September for their favorite broadcaster.

This year, the Museum has pared the list of fan-eligible candidates to 75 – two representing every current big league team and 15 at-large selections — based on popularity, longevity and past voting results in the online fan balloting. Eligible candidates must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two.

Results of the fan voting will be announced on October 5. The final 2012 Frick Award ballot will be comprised of the three fan selections, along with seven other candidates, determined by a Hall of Fame staff research team.

The 2012 Ford C. Frick Award winner will be announced December 6 at baseball’s Winter Meetings.

Eligible broadcast candidates for the fan vote include:

       Arizona Diamondbacks: Greg Schulte, Daron Sutton
       Atlanta Braves: Skip Caray, Pete Van Wieren
       Baltimore Orioles: Joe Angel, Jim Hunter
       Boston Red Sox: Joe Castiglione, Jerry Remy
       Chicago Cubs: Pat Hughes, Ron Santo
       Chicago White Sox: Ed Farmer, Ken Harrelson
       Cincinnati Reds: Waite Hoyt, Joe Nuxhall
       Cleveland Indians: Mike Hegan, Herb Score
       Colorado Rockies: Jack Corrigan, Wayne Hagin
       Detroit Tigers: George Kell, Jim Price
       Florida Marlins: Tommy Hutton, Rick Waltz
       Houston Astros: Bill Brown, Larry Dierker
       Kansas City Royals: Ryan Lefebrve, Paul Splittorff
       Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Dick Enberg, Jose Mota
       Los Angeles Dodgers: Rick Monday, Ross Porter
       Milwaukee Brewers: Merle Harmon, Bill Schroeder
       Minnesota Twins: Dick Bremer, John Gordon
       New York Mets: Gary Cohen, Ralph Kiner
       New York Yankees: Michael Kay, John Sterling
       Oakland Athletics: Ray Fosse, Bill King
       Philadelphia Phillies: Richie Ashburn, Chris Wheeler
       Pittsburgh Pirates: Steve Blass, Lanny Frattare
       San Diego Padres: Ted Leitner, Eduardo Ortega
       San Francisco Giants: Mike Krukow, Duane Kuiper
       Seattle Mariners: Ron Fairly, Rick Rizzs
       St. Louis Cardinals: Al Hrabosky, Mike Shannon
       Tampa Bay Rays: Todd Kalas, Dewayne Staats
       Texas Rangers: Mark Holtz, Eric Nadel
       Toronto Blue Jays: Tom Cheek, Jerry Howarth
       Washington Nationals: Bob Carpenter, Charlie Slowes
       At-large candidates: Thom Brennaman, Joe Buck, Ken Coleman, Jacques Doucet, Ernie Johnson Sr., Ned Martin, Buck Martinez, Tim McCarver, Al Michaels, Joe Morgan, Amaury Pi-Gonzalez, Phil Rizzuto, John Rooney, Steve Stone, Gary Thorne

Online voting for fan selections for the 2012 Frick Award ballot will begin at 10 a.m. ET on Thursday, Sept. 1 at the Hall of Fame’s Facebook site and will conclude at 5 p.m. ET on Sept. 30.

This fall, a 20-member electorate will vote on the final 10-name ballot to determine the 2012 Frick Award winner, which will be honored in Cooperstown during Hall of Fame Weekend 2012, July 20-23. The 20-member voting electorate features all Frick Award winners, including 2011 Ford C. Frick Award winner Dave Van Horne and the other 14 living Frick Award winners: Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Milo Hamilton,  Jaime Jarrin, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff, along with five historians and veteran media members: Bob Costas (NBC/MLB Network), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of New York Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes summer hours of 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. from Memorial Day Weekend until the day before Labor Day. From Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend, the Museum observes daily regular hours of 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. Ticket prices are $19.50 for adults (13 and over), $12 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $7 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger.  For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.


1 Comment

How do you vote without a facebook account? Please reply to:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: